Why you should apply to the Data Journalism Awards 2016

Data Journalism Awards

Are you a journalist with a data-driven project you are proud of?

Apply to the Data Journalism Awards (DJAs) 2016 now

The Data Journalism Awards are the biggest competition to reward the world’s best data journalism. Submission is open until 10 April 2016.

Interhacktives is a proud media partner of the DJAs. We’ll be publishing interviews, advice and showcasing past winners until the 12 prizes – worth €1000 each – are announced on 16 June.

Organised by the Global Editors’ Network (GEN), the awards are sponsored by The Knight Foundation and Google News Lab. Google’s data editor Simon Rogers is directing them.

ProPublica’s executive chairman Paul E. Steiger is president of the illustrious jury of 18, which includes The Guardian’s digital editor Aron Pilhofer; Cronkite School of Journalism Professor Steve Doig; The Economist’s data editor Kenneth Cukier and Condé Nast International’s Chief Digital Officer Wolfgang Blau, among others.

The panel’s goal this year is “to expand the number of entries”, especially from Asia, Africa, Latin America and Eastern Europe, says Steiger.

“We saw lots of great work last year –  the best ever – but we know there was excellent data journalism that wasn’t entered.”

The entries that stand out for Rogers generally work on all formats, from mobile to desktop; are transparent with their data; and blend data with new technology in an innovative way.

“There’s so much technological innovation going on right now, wouldn’t it be great if we could see more data journalism using these methods?”

Data journalists from organisations of all sizes should apply, he says. Start-ups and small newsrooms are sometimes “best placed to try out new things”.

“It’s a great surprise to see websites not known for data journalism really producing great work.”

See GEN’s interview with Simon Rogers and Paul Steiger for more of their advice on entering.

Shortlisted applicants will receive a free invite to the two-day GEN Summit in Vienna in June, during which the prizes will be awarded in a ceremony at Vienna City Hall on 16 June.

Apply now!

Leave a Reply